Reclaimed Garden Update

After many, many days of thoughtful consideration I’ve finally settled on the theme for the reclaimed garden.  However, it is not going to be an immediate overhaul.  It’s too late in the season for that.  And possibly, now that wheelbarrow loads of weeds and tree seedlings have been removed, and sunlight can once again reach the soil, other plants may reemerge next spring.  Meanwhile, I’ll work with open spaces and any moving of established plants until spring.

The Reclaimed Garden’s new name is “Fairyland.”  One consideration for this decision was the abundance of slightly chipped or damaged fairy items that were left from the shop when I closed the farm.  Another was the fact that there are both sunny and shady areas, and I have lots of leftover fairy plants that would be happy in each situation.   I really enjoy miniature plants, and fairies, too, so it seemed the perfect choice.  And, it’s a little bit secluded, which the fairies like.

DSC04089

Since it is so late in the season, I’ve decided not to unpack all the fairy décor, but I did move three houses into the landscape.  Just choosing the best location for each took time, and they were moved and switched several times before their positions were determined.  Only then could I begin the placing of the plants that needed to go in before winter.

Once I was satisfied, I planted a patch of “Nifty Thrifty” armeria (commonly called thrift) in a sunny spot next to the smallest cottage.   When I found a set of chairs and a table packed inside it, I couldn’t resist placing some flat bark to create a little patio and a path.  If you look carefully you can see the white table and chairs placed on the bark.

DSC04090

In the deepest shade, under the lilac on the right, a double row of miniature  “Venusta” hostas now form a pathway leading to the door of the Scottish Cottage.  On the slope above, just right of the French two-story house, several white coral bells were added.  I grew up singing the round “White coral bells upon a slender stalk, lilies of the valley grace my garden walk.  Oh, don’t you wish that you could hear them ring? That will happen only when the fairies sing!”  All fairy gardens should have white coral bells.  I added a few “Pink Ritz” scabiosa, because they bloom over a long period and stay very tiny.

After the bulbs arrived, I planted a curving row of “Tete a Tete” daffodils to the left of the smallest cottage, and a patch of miniature “Topolino” daffys to the right of the Scottish house.  I added little patches of crocuses here and there.  Sadly, the squirrels have already found them!  I may wait until I get back from my travels to replant them.

DSC04155

Now that the decision is made, I have all winter to plan where the rest of the fairy items and plants will go.  This adorable trulli, (height only 5″) purchased on my last trip to Italy will certainly have a spot, maybe further up the slope, so it appears to be in the distance?  Or should I place it close to the front so it can be admired?  What do you suggest?

About carolee

A former professional herb and lavender grower, now just growing for joy in my new potager. When I'm not in the garden, I'm in the kitchen, writing, or traveling to great gardens.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reclaimed Garden Update

  1. Bonnie Carrell says:

    That looks perfect Carolee! Love it. I need you to help me plan my little Fairy village and garden here at the new farm. I don’t have much yet, just a couple of left over houses and a metal gazebo from the Lincoln St. house. I have one or two plants. One that I really am happy with is a mini Solomon’s Seal that bloomed this last spring. Wasn’t sure it would make it when I planted it last fall as I got it in quite late. Oh well, lots of planning/dreaming to do. Best to you, Bonnie C.

    Like

    • carolee says:

      I’d be happy to come over to play! I’ve kept quite a few miniature plants, in case I need to replace any if this winter turns out to be a hard one. And, the squirrels keep digging some of them out and although I keep putting them back in, they may have suffered too much air time to make it till spring. Isn’t having new plantings to do exciting? So much to dream about!

      Like

Leave a Reply

