Too cold to swallow & too windy to spit!

The view out my window this morn

Happy Saturday! I hope you are able to stay indoors where it’s warm! It was 1 degree F this morning at 8am. Thankfully, I have no where to go and can stay in and enjoy the unusual sunshine. As I watered plants on the windowsill and viewed the snow, I could hear my grandfather’s gruff voice saying, “It’s too darn cold to swallow and too windy to spit!” as he would stomp the snow off his boots by the back door. I don’t know why that memory was triggered. 

When I looked at all the tracks in the snow, I thought, “Well, looks like there were lots of reindeer games being played here last night!” Not sure why they were so busy there. Usually they are down under the trees eating the black walnut husks but there isn’t anything good to eat in that area. Who knows? 

Amaryllis “Orange Desire”

But however bleak the landscape, there are flowers to enjoy indoors. Just as the last amaryllis finished, “Orange Desire” began to open. The first bloom stalk is going to have 6 huge flowers! Four are opened, and they are a brilliant orange…not quite as red as they look in the photo, so I am happy. There are two more large buds just beginning to show color. I don’t think I’ve ever had 6 blooms on one stalk before. And the second bloom stalk looks just as large.

The forecast is for temps to drop to negative teens this night, very cold tomorrow and then a week of rain, rain, rain. I’d planned to finish taking the tree down today…all that’s left are the lights. But with another dreary week ahead, maybe I’ll just leave those colorful lights to click on at dusk and lift my spirits. Ancient lore tells as long as all Christmas decor is removed from the house before February 1, all is well. Leave it out after than and one tempts ill fate!

Stay warm and safe. January will eventually slide away, and hopefully there will be crocuses in February! Blessings, Carolee

About carolee

A former professional herb and lavender grower, now just growing for joy in my new potager. When I'm not in the garden, I'm in the kitchen, writing, or traveling to great gardens.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Too cold to swallow & too windy to spit!

  1. bcparkison says:

    You had a beautiful snow. mine was ice and looked like some spilt rice all over the yard. I keep looking for Spring yellow flowers but not yet showing.

    Like

  2. Going Batty in Wales says:

    Ous snow has gone too and now it is raining with strong winds – norma service has been resumed! I love the phrase your Grandfather used!

    Like

  3. I’ve noticed my daffodils are starting to pop up! They certainly are eager to shine! Warm wishes to you – we are getting a lot of rain soon also, and warm temps to boot! Winter is always an interesting ride!

    Like

    • carolee says:

      Winter is crazy, that’s for sure. I’m really having to hold myself back to keep from getting way ahead on seeding, just because we have no snow, above freezing temps, and like yours, my bulbs are pushing upward. I have revised my schedule a bit, just in case those daffys are ready to be picked in late March rather than early April, knowing that just picking and delivering is a full time job for a couple of weeks!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment