April review of the Potager

Although it was slow-going early in the month due to continual rain, seeding and planting is caught up for the moment.  The potager has really changed since April began.  Several beds have seeded crops growing, like this one with peas and radishes.  As usual, the radishes are a nurse crop for slower germinating seeds like carrots.

Peas Apr 17 compressed In fact, I’ve already been harvesting a few tender, delicious radishes, and I’ll need to put some support sticks in the peas soon.   I am also beginning to harvest spinach, lettuce, green onions, and several herbs.  To the left, you can see how nicely the shallots are growing, and these are the ones I planted last fall as a test to see if they would winter over.   Not shown, are the first beans (Royal Burgundy that can tolerate cool soils) which have pushed through,  the second and third planting of peas, and the newly emerging carrots, kale, kohlrabi, beets, chard, cipollini, etc.  The little “Bright Gem” tulips edging the center path have emerged.  And I’ve added orange violas closer to the edges, hoping they will bloom before it turns too hot.  The “Salmon Gem” tulips edging the E-W path were no-shows, and since they were more expensive, I’ll use “Bright Gem ” on both paths next year.  Center view pot Apr 17 compressed  Notice that the arches have been moved to this North-South path this year for vine crop rotation.  Last year they were on the East-West path, which I think I like visually better, but we’ll see as the season progresses.  You can see lots of garlic (9 kinds) and more shallots if you look closely.  There are lots of tiny onion seedlings in ground, but you really can’t see them. And here’s a view from the NW corner  showing strawberry beds in bloom.  I hope I don’t have Pot view from NW compressed Apr 17 the problem with raccoons again this year.  You can also see some flats sitting on the raised beds.  That’s because all the benches are full, and the greenhouse is packed.  I’m trying to get all the flats out of the basement.  Broc Apr 17 compressed  And even though I’m planting everything that can go in before our last frost date (May 5-10, depending upon who you believe) like the pretty Blue Wind Broccoli shown above left, there are still lots of flats waiting.  I’ve transplanted over 3800 plants already into individual pots, and there are still seedling flats that need doing.  In total, there are 41 crops newly planted in the potager, plus all the perennial crops (rhubarb, strawberries, edible flowers, and lots of herbs.)  Right now, I’m in a holding pattern, just waiting for warmer temperatures.  Until then, I guess I’ll be forced to just sip Hugo’s and rest in these cheerful green chairs…..Green chairs compressed …whenever it stops raining.  Enough with these April showers!  I’m ready for May!  Are you?

About carolee

A former professional herb and lavender grower, now just growing for joy in my new potager. When I'm not in the garden, I'm in the kitchen, writing, or traveling to great gardens.
This entry was posted in arbors, garden planning, gardening, garlic, kitchen gardens, Potager, raised beds, shallots, Spring, Uncategorized, vegetable gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to April review of the Potager

  1. homegrownveganfood says:

    Your bed organization is incredible! You’ve also inspired me to put a chair in my garden… you know, for relaxing!

    Like

  2. Roda says:

    So much rain here, too! Save the rain for July when we need it! 💚🌱

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It looks pretty and very organized.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m not surprised you need the green chairs with all that hard work. What fantastic organisation.
    An inspiration!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Looks fantastic! Very neat and tidy, unlike my own ramshackle garden here at home on the west coast. We are clearly some way behind weather and growing season wise. You are very inspiring indeed.

    Like

    • Carolee says:

      Thank you. If I didn’t have raised beds, everything would have drowned by now. The farmers in our area are beginning to worry about getting back in the fields to replant all that has flooded.

      Liked by 1 person

      • The cool, wet weather seems to be causing problems right across the land. Here’s to raised beds! I hope the farmers in your area can get back to their fields soon; what a shame and a sad waste for them.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon says:

    You look more than ready for May! A very pretty as well as practical potager. I have shed envy 🙂

    Like

  7. Beaton says:

    The chairs are a nice touch, I should add some and a bench…. May Flowers here we come
    ~B

    Like

  8. Wow – You are a marvel. Beautiful garden plots.

    Like

  9. Beautiful garden. So very jealous…..maybe one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. blackwellgardener says:

    That looks great!

    Like

  11. bcparkison says:

    I am in love with your garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. It looks amazing – and so neat and organised! 🙂

    Like

  13. simoneharch says:

    Carolee, amazing. Are you going to eat all that garlic. 19 varieties, very impressive. The whole potager looks amazing. Do you ever sleep…? 🙂

    Like

  14. Averyl says:

    How beautiful!

    Like

  15. ekurie says:

    That is a fabulous garden. Did you do all that yourself? You have boundless energy…. Thanks so much for visiting my blog!

    Like

Leave a comment