Flowers to lift the gloom

Amaryllis “Picotee”

As for many of you, the exuberant flowers of amaryllis really lift my spirits during these dreary, gloomy days. I’ve amassed quite a collection over the years, and since they keep producing baby bulbs the number keeps increasing. Just as the first blooms of “Luna” were fading, “Picotee” began to open. ”Picotee” is a new one for me. The flowers are slightly smaller than many others I grow but she’s a pretty one to view up close. At a distance those pencil-thin red edges don’t really show. 

Orchid “Carolee”!!

At Christmas, our friends who own New Vision Orchids brought this new hybrid they developed as a hostess gift. I’ve known Russ for over thirty years, and was Anita’s matron of honor when they married so we have a long history. They met through an orchid growers organization and have been happily growing and hybridizing orchids, judging orchid shows, winning grand prizes, and traveling as far away as New Zealand to visit orchid events and growers. So, I was honored when they announced that this new orchid will be named for me! However, my history with orchids can be summed up in one word…Disastrous. Every orchid Russ has bestowed on me has been doomed from the start. He has given me lessons, culture sheets, encouragement, and still they suffer a lingering death. When “Carolee” arrived, she had three bloom stalks. One was fully opened flowers, one had 6 buds of varying sizes, and one had tiny baby buds. Within days, 5 of the 6 buds on one stalk dropped to the table. I can see that she is not happy, despite my talking kindly, misting the area occasionally, adding a tray filled with marbles and water under her pot. She’s in a good light situation for orchids. I just don’t have that magic skill that orchids must require. So, I’ll enjoy her flowers til the last one drops and then take it on a mercy trip back to Russ for R&R. I’m sticking with amaryllis as my winter cure!

About carolee

A former professional herb and lavender grower, now just growing for joy in my new potager. When I'm not in the garden, I'm in the kitchen, writing, or traveling to great gardens.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Flowers to lift the gloom

  1. bcparkison says:

    There has just got to be an answer to this situation. Something in your house is causing this problem but I sure don’t know the answer.

    Like

  2. Catherine says:

    How lovely to have an orchid named after you! Perhaps you’ll just have to visit it as your friend’s home and ask for regular updates on its progress. I have a friend whose orchids bloom and last for years. Any I am given (I don’t buy them because I’m a failure too!) die quickly – so I’m also better admiring them from afar.

    Like

  3. Amy Rich says:

    That’s very cool to have an orchid named after you. Sorry your history with orchids is so rocky! They’ve been something that grows well for me. I get them set in a window where they’re happy and try not to disturb them, but there are plenty of other plants that I just don’t have the magic with, so I know the feeling.

    Like

    • carolee says:

      You make it sound like they thrive on neglect! Maybe I fuss over them too much and they resent it!

      Like

      • Amy Rich says:

        Yes, I don’t know if it’s just that orchids just like me for some reason (there are plenty of other plants that I wish worked with me but tend to die when I grow them) or neglect is really the best route. I put them in a southern window and have them potted in plain terracotta pots with a dish under them to collect extra water. When I water them, I let the dish fill so it acts as an extra reservoir. And I hope they are happy and don’t get irritated with my neglect. I’m always afraid someday they’ll decide they’re not going to put up with it anymore–and a couple have.

        Like

      • carolee says:

        Oh, I never water so much that there is extra at the bottom! Maybe that’s my problem! I’ll give it a try.

        Like

Leave a comment