The Tulips for Cutting in 2024

One of my favorite tulips in 2023 will be coming again!

Since I did such a poor job record-keeping on the tulip production last spring, and failed to take many photos of the bouquets containing tulips, I’m taking a scatter gun approach to the tulips for 2024. I’ve ordered many more varieties, but fewer numbers of each for the most part so I can see which I like best, how they hold up, when they bloom, and how their colors blend with the other flowers available from the gardens at the time. Let’s start in the order I suspect/hope/want them to bloom!

“Exotic Emperor”…one of my favorites!

The absolute very first tulip to bloom here (April 10, 2023) is “Exotic Emperor,” a creamy white double with sturdy stems and these interesting green-edged outer (sepals?) layer that add a bit of texture and contrast. While a bit shorter than many tulips for cutting, EE works just fine in the bouquets I make in cut-off plastic water bottles. The fact that they bloom early first brought them to my attention, and I planted some in the Front Island a few years ago. I absolutely love them! They return nicely, except for the darned voles and chipmunks devouring them some years. I’ve added more for cutting, because they combine well with ANY other flower that blooms at that early time…namely daffodils of any color and style

“Salmon Prince”

I’m just guessing that the “Prince Series” will be the next to bloom, because they are classified as “Single Early.” This group is known for strong stems that can stand up to the wind and rain that often occurs in early spring, around mid-April, and for being excellent cut flowers. I couldn’t resist this lovely color, that could pair well with a lot of the daffodils that have a salmon cup if they happen to bloom at the same time. Or, they will look great with the white hellebores. 16-18″

“Candy Prince”

Trying to think of what candy is pale lavender, but none come to mind. However, this pale lavender beauty has the name “Candy Prince” and it is apparently a seedling from two famous Princes, Sunny Prince and Purple Prince. Again, a Single Early known for strong single cups that can stand up to inclement weather. 16″

“White Prince”

The third member of the clan, “White Prince” takes little explanation, because white plays well with any other color, so I’m sure I’ll find it useful. There are other colors in the “Prince” series (Purple, Sunny and Red) and if the ones I’ve ordered prove useful I may add them next fall. 16″ I’ve also ordered “Clearwater” which is a Single-Late group, pure white to provide a white late in the tulip season. I’ve grown it in the Front Island and the Deck Garden, and loved it for its classic shape, durability and late bloom. Felt no need to add yet another photo of a white tulip so similar to White Prince.

“Akebono”

So many bloggers rave about “Akebono” that I had to give it a try. Actually, I tried to order it for spring 2023 blooms, but everyone had sold out before I ordered. ”Akebono” is a “Giant Darwin” so it should also bloom mid-April into May. Said to be a fragrant, semi-double it is a camellia type bloom in primrose yellow with pencil thin red edges, and a slight rosy blush on the outer petal bottoms. The Darwins are said to be the best at returning, but so far other Darwin types I’ve planted haven’t returned again….could be the chipmunks…20-22″.

Tulip “Slawa”

This one is a Triumph type, and should bloom later April into May. Triumphs are a cross between the Early Single and the Darwin types, noted for strong stems and a wide range of colors and bi-colors. I haven’t grown Triumphs before, so this should be fun. I picked Slawa because of its striking apricot edging on deep burgundy petals, hoping it will compliment my burgundy hellebores and maybe some of the later daffodils. Some photos show the edging to be more of a pale rose/pink, which apparently occurs as the blooms age, and eventually the edge becomes nearly ivory. Should be interesting to watch. 18-20″

Tulip “Lasting Love”

I don’t normally grow red flowers, but I grew “Lasting Love” last year for cutting, and had to grow it again. Although it is a Lily-flowered type which normally bloom later, LL bloomed around April 18 last year and gave an eye-pop of color when combined with yellow daffodils. Bouquet recipients loved it! And what I loved was that after cutting the main central stem, a few days later two or three secondary, smaller blooms appeared that were also useful in bouquets! An unexpected bonus! 22″ on the first stem, 12″ or so on the seconds.

“Purple Elegance”

Now with “Purple Elegance” I expect to see side blooms because it is actually a “Multi-flowering or Bouquet” type tulip. Should bloom in May and have four full-sized flowers per stem. Many bouquet recipients love purple, so I’ve attempted to add more of that color this year throughout the growing season. I’m expecting these to pair with lilacs and the burgundy hellebores and maybe some of the late creamy-yellow or white daffodils. 18-20″


“Blue Spectacle”

Of course it’s not really blue, but at some stages “Blue Spectacle” does have a slightly blue cast. I grew this one last year, and it was a hit, blooming May 8th. Fully double, this Peony-Flowered (or Double Late) tulip is gorgeous and combined well with all the very late daffodils. The Peony-flowered tulips are valuable because they are long-lasting, and unlike the singles if they lose a petal or two they don’t look gap-toothed. I’ve got 100 of these!

Miranda

Another peony-flowered tulip called “Miranda.” This one was in a mixture I grew last year and it was definitely a hit, so I ordered them separately for this year, along with it’s bright yellow sister, “Yellow Pomponette.” Both are voluptuous, brilliantly saturated colors that just make a bouquet scream “Pick me!”

Tulip “Danceline”

A bit more subtle, “Danceline” is a big ivory peony-type flower with a light pink glow and burgundy streaks on many petals. I think it will look great with some of the other tulips, and with the burgundy hellebores. 20-22″

“Black Hero”

Yet another Peony-flowered tulip, “Black Hero” is a sport of the famous “Queen of the Night” tulip that is flying off the shelves. Hoping it goes with hellebores and maybe lilacs, and possibly purple or lavender anemones. We’ll have to wait to see because I haven’t grown it before. I’m not sure my mostly elderly recipients will like these moody blooms, so I only ordered 10 as a trial. Said to bloom a bit later than most of this group. 22″

“Apricot Parrot”

I keep seeing Parrot tulips on other posts, but I’ve never grown them. Apparently they are excellent cut flowers, so I’m giving some a try but only 10 of each. Not sure when they will actually bloom, but supposedly in May. ”Apricot” is an award-winning, fragrant tulip in soft apricot with tinges of cream, salmon, pink and green. 20″

“Black Parrot”

Another award-winner, striking “Black Parrot” is a velvety, purple-black. 20″

My favorite from last year, “Sonnet”

You may have noticed “Sonnet” in the very first photo of this post. It’s one of the few pix I took of bouquets with tulips included! I just found “Sonnet” to be so very versatile and long-lasting. The gold edge meant it worked well with any of the late daffodils. The burgundy (some sites say brick red) petals echoed the burgundy hellebores, and it seemed to bloom at a time when there were no other tulips at that moment. ”Sonnet” is one of the large family of Lily-flowered tulips, which generally bloom in mid-late May here. 20″


“Fire Wings”

Another Lily-flowering tulip that I grew last year that was a favorite with recipients, “Fire Wings” is brilliant fire-engine red with wide bright yellow edges. Definitely incendiary! Obviously combines will with any yellow daffodil, and I made dozens of bouquets with that combination. Planted 100 of these! 20″

Tulip ‘Claudia”

The final lily-flowering tulip is “Claudia” said to be a deep rose or sometimes leaning toward purple bloom with a white edge. I’d love it if it blooms late enough to go with the purple and pink ranunculus I’ll be planting, but if not it will pair with hellebores. Part of my effort to grow more pink…18-20″

Tulip “Lambada”

The last group to bloom for me were the fringed tulips. ”Lambada” was one I picked to plant in my Front Garden, along the sidewalk where any visitor could see it, and that I would walk by often because I knew I’d love the color, and I did! I was surprised at how long they lasted and did cut a few when I was desperate for a couple of special bouquets and the daffodils were all gone. They looked terrific with the very first orange and salmon ranunculus, so I knew I wanted more for this year. ”Lambada” is an award-winner, hard to describe the luscious colors because they blend from one to another but it’s “false eyelash” fringe makes it outstanding! 20″

“Brest”

Because I was so happy with the bloom time of “Lambada,” I decided to add more fringed tulips this year. ”Brest” is a rosy-red with a white fringe. The fringing is not as elaborate as that of “Lambada,” but it still is eye-catching.

“Aussie Fringed Mix”

I decided to take a gamble on a mixture of fringed tulips when they went on deep discount at Easy-To-Grow. I’ve ordered ranunculus corms from them before and was happy with their product, so I’m not really worried. If the flowers are similar to the photo on their website, shown above, I think I’ll be happy, and I have no doubts that anyone who gets them in their bouquet will be pleased as well.

“China Town Mix”

While I was on their website, I decided to order this mixture as well. I wasn’t happy with most of the mixes from K. Van B last year, so had thought I’d steer clear of mixes, but this one was just too tempting with it’s variegated leaves. I also felt that I was short on Pink tulips, and white are always useful so with the sale price, they were added to the list. Not sure when they will bloom…maybe a lot earlier than I have them placed here since they appear to have shorter stems. I’ll let you know!

“Atlantis”

“Atlantis” is new to me, a Single Late tulip so it should bloom about when “Dordogne,” “Clearwater” and “Blushing Lady” bloom, which is usually after the peony-flowered ones are finished. A soft purple with ivory edges and strong stems I think it will be popular. 20″

“Queen of the Night”

And the final offering is the much-touted, award winning “Queen of the Night” reported to be the last tulip to bloom in many gardens. It’s been much-loved since 1944, so I’m giving 10 a try. I’m waiting to see if it is last to bloom here in central Indiana. Of course it will largely depend on weather, and if the chipmunks don’t find it first!

That’s it! That’s the line-up for cutting in 2024. You can see I’ve added more burgundy, red, pink and purple than ever before in response to what my bouquet recipients chose. I maybe should have looked for a late pink, but the budget is spent for now and it’s likely the ground will soon freeze. I’m also looking at them and wondering if any of those blooming at the same time will actually look good with one another! I was so worried about combining them with other things that I didn’t really contemplate using them together. Oh well, hopefully it will all work out. And, hopefully there’s always next year to get it right! Blessings! Carolee

About carolee

A former professional herb and lavender grower, now just growing for joy in my new potager. When I'm not in the garden, I'm in the kitchen, writing, or traveling to great gardens.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Tulips for Cutting in 2024

  1. I really have to do a better job planting bulbs but with so many wild things eating them I feel defeated 🙂

    Like

    • carolee says:

      THEN do plant daffodils, because nothing eats them. Sometimes something will dig newly planted bulbs out, just to see what they are I assume. I just replant them as soon as I notice and they are fine and usually not bothered again. There are so many types and colors. Give them a try!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. March Picker says:

    Fabulous selection, Carolee! Your recipients will enjoy these certainly. It’s fun to see you’re dipping your toe into the pinks. This year’s all oranges, whites, and purples here, and I’m growing fewer (400) than in years past.

    Like

    • carolee says:

      Ohh! That sounds like my color palette! Do send photos! I could use some inspiration. At some point the gardens around the house will demand more attention. They were a bit neglected last year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bcparkison says:

    They should be “show stoppers” You will certainly be tiptoeing thru the tulips. Do remember to tale lots of pictures.

    Like

    • carolee says:

      I’ll try to do better than last year….although that certainly wouldn’t take much! HA! If I just remember to put the camera on the golf cart each morning, maybe I’ll remember to take some photos.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Gorgeous, one and all.

    Like

  5. Catherine says:

    That’s a fantastic selection of tulips. I hope you’ll manage to take plenty of photos when they bloom!

    Like

    • carolee says:

      I hope so, too. Although the last order was just planted on Monday, and several of the bulbs were trash. I was highly disappointed, so there will be some missing of the photos I showed. Still, with all planted before there will be plenty for the bouquets. I’ll really try to take photos, but remember that tulips are harvested while still in bud just cracking, so that won’t be a great pix…only if I screw up will there be open flowers!!!

      Like

      • Catherine says:

        What a shame about your bulbs, there’s really no coming back from that in mid-January. I hadn’t thought about the tulips still being in bud, but I hope that you’re so successful that you won’t have open flowers to photograph! Oh, that sounds such a strange thing to say!!

        Like

      • carolee says:

        Doesn’t it? But other than zinnias, echinacea, rudbeckia, lisianthus and dahlias, nearly all the other flowers are harvested before they even open!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan Hansen says:

    Hi! Where are the best places to order the many beautiful varieties of tulips and other beautiful flowers mentioned? Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment